Reading Together

img_0443img_0445img_0446img_0444

Home Reading has officially started this week in the Super Kid’s classroom.  The kids are very excited to pick “just right” books and share them with their families.  We talked about how books are like shoes.  What do I mean? Well, a “just right” book fits us like a shoe.  If the book is to easy it doesn’t help us practice our reading skills, just like we can’t walk in a shoe that is too small.  A book that is to hard doesn’t help us either.  We end up getting frustrated just like wearing a shoe that is to big.  Of course I had to demonstrate this by trying to put on a student’s shoe and then my husband’s shoe.  I’m encouraging the students to begin to pick their books independently with a watchful eye from me.  We have talked about how we can look at the first page of text and try to read it.  If it is to hard or to easy, we should try again.  Of course during this process some books may come home that are not “just right”.  It happens. Many of my grade 2 Super Kids are experimenting with the books from the classroom library.  Many are fascinated by the Moe Willems books.  I realize that some kids are able read these very well, but I’m encouraging the students to read them with expression.  Some are asking to read them to the class during story time.  This is great!  Kids encouraging and inspiring other kids to read is wonderful to see.  Once their “book club” reads with me during guided reading lessons this coming week, they will be taking books home at their level from that group as well as books from the classroom library.  I’m encouraging the students to right down a book they are reading at home in their home reading folder too.  The most powerful reading happens from a book that student’s pick themselves.  Thank you to all my Super Kid’s families for supporting this process at home.  I can already see my amazing students fall in love with reading.  It is my favourite part of my job!

img_0448img_0447

Our 1/2 buddies from next door, came by this week for some cooperative play.  I broke them up into groups and gave them a floor puzzle to put together.  Some struggled with the idea for working together, but quickly realized that this was a team activity and that everyone needed a turn.  Many hadn’t done a puzzle in a while and needed reminding that straight edges are the outside of the puzzle.  This activity works on cooperation, team work, and spacial awareness.  Puzzles can be tricky!

img_0436

Our Kandinsky art is up in the hallway!  If you’re in the school, be sure to check it out.  Now what can we make to put up on the bulletin board by our room???? Stay tuned. 🙂

 

img_0453

We have a class cheer that we like to due at the end of the day or whenever we feel like a little pick me up.   We bang the floor with our hand and yell “1, 2,3, 102…..1, 2, 3, Super Kids  DO DO DO!”  The kids stick their arms out like they’re flying Super Heroes into the circle.  There are always lots of smiles and giggles.

Next week, our school has picture day on Monday and the annual Terry Fox Walk on Friday.  Have a great weekend everyone!

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *