What A Week!

This week has been a busy one in the Super Kids classroom.  Not only were we following the winter Olympics closely and making newscasts, but it was also Valentine’s Day and the 100th day of school! The class is so excited to follow the Olympics.  As I mentioned in our last post, the time change has reinforced the concept we learned about during our space inquiry unit that we’re wrapping up at the same time as everything else.  The students eagerly come into the classroom each day, to see what highlights I have to show them on our whiteboard.  The Canadian team luge competition was a hit!  If it was an exciting day for the Canadian athlete while we were sleeping, the class creates a script for our Super Kids reporters to update our followers on our blog and twitter feed.  Team Canada has even responded to our class! Check out our first three newscasts below.

newsflash-1na43m8

newflash2-1fjt1xh

newflash3-1gciqti

  

One day this week we were so into our math centres that we completely forgot to go to gym!  Once we realized the mistake what could we do?  We grabbed our crazy carpets, headed to the hill on our playground, and had a class luge competition.  I even challenged our classroom educational assistant to a race!  Unfortunately she beat me, but I’m thinking about a rematch. 🙂

luge-17z37yo

Valentine’s Day was on Wednesday and the class was excited to give their classmates a friendship card.  I have to admit that this is my favourite holiday to celebrate in my classroom.  I love watching them deliver their cards and then open them up.  Each time they opened a card they would say thank you.  I took a video that I had to share.

valentines-2cuy54q

  

I also had Valentines themed centres that students rotated through.  They included both measuring, doubles math, reading valentines books, sight word heart bingo, and contraction heart matching.

     

We made a special Valentine for our families too.  I wonder if you realize how we made it.  It was celery! We just cut off the bottom and used it as a stamp.  Then we wrote a special note to our families inside.  We even got a healthy treat out of this project.

  

Thursday was the 100th day of school!  Time flies when you’re having fun.  We rotated through centres set up in all the grade 1 and 1/2 classrooms in the school.  When the classes came to me they did 100 second exercises.  I should have thought that through a bit more!  That meant that I had to do the exercises with 6 classes! 🙂

Other activities included STEM activities, 100 piece puzzles, science experiments, snakes and ladders, and an art activity.  Thanks to our parent volunteers that joined us.

Next week our school is gearing up for some exciting Festival Du Voyageur activities.  Have great weekend!

 

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *