Back To School!

Welcome to the Super Kids Classroom.  To those families that are new to our class I am thrilled to welcome you and to those that are returning I’m looking forward to continuing our journey together.

This week I was grateful to meet my student’s families for our school’s opening day conferences.  This is a time for students and parents to see the room, meet me, and help calm any anxious thoughts about school.  I’ve been teaching for 19 years and I still get nervous every year!  I always say to my students that if you’re nervous about something it just means that you care.  🙂 I asked my families to pose in front of our red carpet!  A class photo booth is always a hit.

 

The first days of school were filled with team building exercises, establishing routines, and making sure that everyone was looking forward to coming back.  The first thing we did after our morning meeting was break into groups and work together to create a structure.  This eased nerves, got kids talking to each other, and put smiles on their faces.

 

  

The Super Kids also had their first math centers, buddy reading time, and became scientists during watermelon science!

   

Unfortunately, I didn’t take any pictures of our watermelon science since I was holding the watermelon. The Super Kids estimated how many blocks tall they thought the watermelon was and then we measured together.  They also guessed if the watermelon would sink or float.  During afternoon snack we cut up the watermelon and had a healthy treat.

During choice time on Friday, a group of Super Kids decided to make a maze out of our magnetic blocks and test it with our Nano.  I just love their creativity! Check out the video below.

maze video

International Dot Day is next Saturday.  It’s a day inspired by “The Dot” by Peter H. Reynolds.  It is a book that encourages kids to put their mark on the world.  We will be celebrating “International Dot Day” next Friday in our classroom.  Stay tuned to see all of our exciting activities.

Enjoy the rest of your weekend and I’m looking forward to seeing all of my Super Kids tomorrow.

Mrs. Didyk

 

 

 

 

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *